Robinson Wins F.L. McDonald Postgrad Scholarship

Robinson Wins F.L. McDonald Postgrad Scholarship

CORPUS CHRISTI – Senior Texas A&M – Corpus Christi men's tennis player Nathan Robinson is one of two winners of the Southland Conference's F.L. McDonald Postgraduate Scholarship, the conference announced today. Robinson was joined by Stephen F. Austin track athlete Carrie Hahn in garnering the award, and the duo will be recognized during the Southland Honors Ceremony May 22 in Galveston, Texas.

"Nathan is a young man who represents all you could ever want in a student-athlete," Director of Tennis Steve Moore said. "He was a great leader, an outstanding student and a relentless competitor, but above all else he was an ambassador for our university and our athletic department, and he represented us with class. I couldn't be prouder of him for winning this award – it is well deserved and I know he will make the most of this opportunity.

"It's inspiring to see the hours and sacrifice that young man put in to be such an elite scholar and an elite athlete," he continued. "That is the greatest reflection for our university and our athletic department and I really salute Nathan for that. There's a saying that if you're truly disciplined in the classroom you'll be disciplined in your sport, and he definitely reflects that."

The McDonald Scholarship is the league's ultimate academic honor for its top graduates. The award is presented annually to graduating male and female letterwinners with the highest cumulative grade point averages during their enrollment at Southland Conference universities. The $2,500 scholarship must be applied to graduate study at an institution of the recipient's choice.

"Nathan is a stellar example for all of our student-athletes here at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi," Director of Athletics Scott Lazenby said. "To be able to balance such a demanding course schedule while competing in both the fall and spring seasons is truly impressive, but to post such a high GPA while doing so is just amazing. He will be a success in whatever he undertakes in life, and we are proud that he is, and always will be, an Islander."

A finance/economics major, Robinson holds a sparkling 3.96 grade point average in his three years at the Island University. In the spring of 2011, he was honored with the Dr. Robert McMinn Economics Award for holding the highest GPA of all juniors majoring in economics. He plans to attend the University of Texas for his postgraduate work, in search of a master's degree in economics.

Robinson has been named to the Dean's List in each semester at Texas A&M – Corpus Christi and served as the President of the Islanders' Student-Athlete Advisory Council in 2010-11, where he helped spearhead community service efforts such as the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk, the Halloween Carnival to benefit the Corpus Christi Boys and Girls Club and Samaritan's Feet, which supplies shoes to underprivileged youths throughout the world.

Robinson was named the school's Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year at the Student-Athlete Awards Banquet on April 30, 2012, and was also named the tennis team's Most Improved Player in leading the Islanders to their fifth straight regular season Southland title.

On the court, Robinson was a key player for the Islanders in his senior season, playing anywhere from No. 3 to No. 6. He went 11-7 on the year, including a 3-2 mark in league play and a 4-3 mark when playing at the No. 3 position. In doubles, he played with four different partners during the year, going 8-9 in all.

In his career, the Abilene, Texas, native went 22-16 in singles, battling an injury that limited him to just three matches as a junior. In 2010, he was named Southland Newcomer of the Year after posting a 10-7 mark in his first year with the Islanders. He also played one year at Tyler Junior College, where he helped the team to a 19-4 record.

Robinson is the second Islanders student-athlete in program history to receive the scholarship, joining baseball player Paul Saville, who garnered the recognition in 2008.

The award was established in memory of Dr. F.L. McDonald in 1996-97, a former president of Lamar University and 1999 Southland Hall of Honor inductee. McDonald served as Lamar's president in 1963 when the Southland Conference was established and is considered one of the league's founding fathers.

Each member institution may nominate one male and one female student-athlete who meet the following criteria: a letterwinner in a conference sport, be on track to graduate during the spring in which they are nominated or the subsequent summer, and plan to attend graduate school no later than the second fall following receipt of the award.