Tierney Named to Gregg Olson Award Watch List

Tierney Named to Gregg Olson Award Watch List

CORPUS CHRISTI – Texas A&M – Corpus Christi senior third baseman Brandon Tierney has been named to the Gregg Olson Award Watch List, a national award that recognizes college baseball's breakout player of the year.

Tierney has seen his average move up to .351 this season after hitting .257 a year ago. The Arlington, Texas, native has seen his production improve in every offensive category, and now leads the Islanders in batting average, hits (67), slugging percentage (.476) and hit by pitches (15). He is also second in doubles (11) and on-base percentage (.449), while tied for the team lead in home runs (3).

Tierney has currently reached base safely in his last 23 games, while also tallying a 13-game hit streak during one segment of that stretch. He also was able to put together a streak of five consecutive games with three hits.

Tierney is just one of four Southland Conference players to make the watch list, with Andro Cutura (Southeastern Louisiana), Curtis Jones (Houston Baptist) and Reese Kanter (New Orleans) joining him.

This marks the second straight year that an Islander was named to the watch list, as left-handed pitcher Trevor Belicek was named to the list a season ago. The southpaw went from throwing 10 2/3 innings his freshman year, accumulating a 5.91 ERA, to seeing 80 2/3 innings of work with a 3.12 ERA in 2013.

The award is given to those who exemplify hard work, strength of mind and determination. It is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, the players nominated have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result. 

Semifinalists are slated to be named, Friday, May 30th at the start of NCAA Regional play and the finalists are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6th at the beginning of Super Regional action. The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Neb., during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 26.