Marek Named to Southland All-Academic Team

Marek Named to Southland All-Academic Team

CORPUS CHRISTI - Rising senior Jeramie Marek (Corpus Christi/Calallen) has been named to the Southland Conference All-Academic Second Team, the conference announced today. Marek, a kinesiology major, was honored by the league for the first time in his career.

"Jeramie was a key player for us, both on and off the diamond," head coach Scott Malone said. "He is a guy that we know we can always count on to give 100 percent, and he carries that over into the classroom. We're very proud that Jeramie has earned this award."

Texas State's Tyler Sibley was named the SLC Baseball Student-Athlete of the Year, while nine others earned automatic selections to the first team by virtue of being either a first team all-conference selection or voted to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team. The remaining members of the all-academic team are voted on by coaches, sports information directors and academic administrators from each Southland university.

Student-athletes must possess at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

In his third year as an Islander, Marek finished third on the team with a .328 average, delivering 58 singles on the season, the third-highest total of all-time. He led the team with 14 steals, also third in school history, and was hit by 13 pitches, a new school record. He is tied for the school's career mark in stolen bases with 27 during his three years.

Marek saved his best for the postseason, as he went 9-for-19 at the Southland Conference Baseball Tournament to finish third among all players with a .474 average. In five games, he scored four runs, drove in three and hit a pair of doubles for the Islanders. He also drew three walks and went 3-for-3 on the basepaths while playing error-free baseball at second base.

Marek is the fourth player in school history to earn selection to the all-academic team, joining Josh Plumaj (2007), Paul Saville (2008) and Brycen Bell (2009).